News Updates
Home / NEWS / President Akufo-Addo to name Ministers for new Regions
Prof. Christopher Ameyaw-Akumfi and Salifu Adam Braimah are possible contenders

President Akufo-Addo to name Ministers for new Regions

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo is set to name Ministers for the newly created Regions barring any last minute changes, has gathered. is learning that several names including the Member of Parliament (MP) for the Salaga South Constituency formally of the Northern region, Mr Salifu Adam Braimah, Deputy Northern Regional Minister Solomon Namliit Boar and former Minister of Education in the John Agyekum Kufour administration Professor Christopher Ameyaw-Akumfi have all come up as possible contenders for the positions of Regional Ministers.

Others are Dr Evelyn Ama Kumi Richardson, Hon Evans Opoku Bobie, MP for Asunafo North, Kojo Lucas Friday and Ewoenam Kwadwo Afuah.

President Akufo-Addo earlier this month, presented the Constitutional Instrument on the creation of the six new regions when he hosted delegations of chiefs on February 12, 13 and 15 which officially increased the regions from 10 to 16.

Speaking at the ceremony to present Constitutional Instrument (C.I.) 113 for the creation of the regions at the Jubilee House, he named Nalerigu and Damongo as the capitals for North East and Savannah region respectively.

He also named Techiman as the capital of Bono East Region, Goaso as the capital for the Ahafo Region whiles Sefwi-Wiawso was named as the capital of the newly-created Western North Region.

The President named Dambai as the capital for the Oti Region.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo set up a Commission of Inquiry, headed by Justice S.A. Brobbey, to collate views and to make recommendations for carving out the new regions following petitions, he received from individuals across the country.

About Frontview Tom

Leave a Reply


Check Also

Presidency admits laying off Osinbajo’s aides

  The Presidency on Friday confirmed that President Muhammadu Buhari laid off some aides to Vice-President Yemi ...

%d bloggers like this: