Home / POLITICS / NWC approves nine for Kogi APC gov primary

NWC approves nine for Kogi APC gov primary

The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress on Wednesday approved nine Kogi governorship aspirants out of the 16 screened to contest the party’s primaries scheduled to hold on Wednesday, August 29.

The party in a statement signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, in Abuja  said that the NWC of the party took the decision after deliberating on the report of screening and appeal committees for the party’s Kogi governorship aspirants.

“After a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine aspirants were finally cleared to contest the August 29, 2019 Indirect Governorship primary.

“Seven other aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise.

“Those cleared by the NWC are Governor Yahaya Bello, Hadiza Ibrahim, Yahaya Audu, Sani Abdullahi, Abubakar Bashir, Danlami Mohammed, Yakubu Mohammed, Hassan Abdullahi and Blessing Ekele.

“The aspirants who are not cleared are Prof. Mohammed Onaili, Usman Jibrin, Mustapha Mona Audu, Rukkaya Ibrahim, Gen. Patrick Akpa, Babatunde Irukera, and Muhammed Audu,” Issa-Onilu said.

The screening committee had earlier cleared only four of the contestants.

About Frontview Tom

Leave a Reply


Check Also

Officials brace for likely sanctions as dirty election tests Museveni’s ties to key Western allies

By JULIUS BARIGABA – A quarter of a century after being listed among a “new breed” of ...

%d bloggers like this: